The Island

This past summer, in an effort to escape the trials and tribulations of work and everyday life, I ventured off to the “Big Island” of my forefathers. And so, stepping off the ferry, I shouldered my pack and set out to find a suitable pony trap for the ride up one of the island’s narrow roads to find the next village, the remnants of my family, and my bed for the night. At that point, I was content in the idea that I wasn’t in Kansas anymore; and that I was far, far away from the hustle and bustle of the modern world.

And so one night I settled myself in to the crowd and the sweet sounds of banjo, squeeze-box, and taps pouring out pint upon pint of the black stuff at Ti Joe Watty’s. Performing my duties, I proceeded conversation hopping around the pub and soon found myself talking to a hard hat diver working on the island. Before I knew if, I was returned to the real world, discussing equipment problems and contract constraints; and regaling both the hardships and simple joy of being swallowed by the sea.

The scope of this project includes the following:

• Construction of a 550 m breakwater to provide shelter to the harbour from significant swell waves from Galway harbour;
• The extension and upgrading of the existing pier to facilitate larger vessels;
• The creation of a deepwater berth for fishing boats;
• Provision of a cargo quay and slipway to service roll-on roll-off (RO-RO) cargo service;
• Provision of a pedestrian only zone for ferry passengers;
• A berth for the lifeboat.

The Firm’s Website

And all along, I had been thinking I was on vacation for some reason.

That having been said, I did get the chance to spend a few days hill trekking, getting to know the locals, and just smelling the flowers. And I was left to ponder certain facts of life:

  1. There are few pints like the one (or five) had with a life-long fisherman
  2. The more things change, the more they stay the same
  3. You never really leave work behind…

Then, like so many before me, I began the long journey across the ocean to America; hoping that someday I might be able to set foot on the island of patchwork greens once more…

-Andrew Hummers

~ by castle2268 on January 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
